Kira Scarlet, Femina Potens, Queer Health & Lyon-Martin

Kira Scarlet redwork embroidery art for Lyon Martin and Femina Potens

So. Hello! This has not been my week for posting blog things particularly productively, but it has been my week for some epically productive embroidery work! Which is particularly fortuitous productivity, given that the show I was madly embroidering for is being hung tomorrow. I am so happy with how these pieces came out and I think I’m going to continue working on the set.

Femina Potens says this about the show:

“Femina Potens teams up with Lyon-Martin Health Clinic to present visual art works from artists Suzanne Forbes, Kira Scarlet [ETA: zomg y’all, that’s me! In case you were wondering.], Katie Gilmartin and KD Diamond using drawing, needle point and illustration to create health awareness in the queer, women and trans communities. Visit Lyon-Martin to check out our latest exhibit and to make an appointment for your next check up!”

Would you like to see pictures of my lovely redwork embroidery? Yes, hypothetical internet readers, you would like to see pictures, and I would like to share them with someone beyond the handful of people I send every single exciting thing I find on the internet.

Kira Scarlet redwork embroidery art for Lyon Martin and Femina Potens

Kira Scarlet redwork embroidery art for Lyon Martin and Femina Potens

Kira Scarlet redwork embroidery art for Lyon Martin and Femina Potens

Kira Scarlet redwork embroidery art for Lyon Martin and Femina Potens

Kira Scarlet redwork embroidery art for Lyon Martin and Femina Potens

Also! You can see more of my photos on my Scarlet Tentacle tumblr and you can also see some of my work on Flickr (though you have to be signed in because Flickr, apparently, wouldn’t know what a vagina is if it, well, was compared to an embroidered vagina).

Also, speaking of embroidered vaginas:

Kira Scarlet vagina embroidery 

Femina Potens used a photo of one of my pieces for a promotional show card last month and I just found out! …And my response was to take weird photos of myself eating the card…? Yeah, I don’t know.

Please do visit again over the weekend — I’ll be updating some of the pieces I was working on last week along with all the content I meant to make this week (helloooo Half Naked Thursday and a free embroidery pattern for the end of July, oops!). It will be exciting. There will be party hats.

One thought on “Kira Scarlet, Femina Potens, Queer Health & Lyon-Martin

  1. Pingback: Work In Progress Not On Wednesday Update | Scarlet Tentacle – Audacious Handmade

Leave a Reply

